



January 1, 2020

Kay Clinard President Emeritus UCA International Users Group 10604 Candler Falls Court Raleigh, NC 27614 USA

## Dear Kay:

On the occasion of your retirement from the position of President of the UCA International Users Group, the Board of Directors, members and staff of the UCAlug wish to extend to you a sincere "thank you" for everything you have done in service for the UCAlug and its mission to Advance Interoperability for the Utility Enterprise.

The results of your work have impacted the entire electric utility industry. Early on, before the founding of UCAlug, your engagement with EPRI and the MMS Forum was crucial in moving UCA 2.0 into the IEC. You helped shepherd the transition of IEC 61850 from a substation protocol to a global standard for power system automation, integration, and communications impacting all aspects of the electric utility from generation, distribution, transmission to distributed energy resources. Your leadership helped create the CIM Users Group as an entity within the UCAlug organization and helped it become a major force in establishing the CIM as the dominant global standard for power system modeling and application messaging. Your efforts with the Open Smart Grid Users Group were instrumental in laying the groundwork for much of the intelligent grid of the future. Your legacy includes much more than could possibly be listed here. You have accomplished so much and touched so many in your illustrious career.

On behalf of the entire Board of Directors, members and staff of the UCAlug and in consideration of your invaluable service to the entire electric energy industry, you are hereby appointed to the honorary and distinguished position of President Emeritus of the UCA International Users Group. Thank you for everything you have done.

Ralph Mackiewicz

Chair, Board of Directors

**UCA International Users Group** 

Board of Directors: David Ball, David Bogen, Pat Brown (Adv.), Christoph Brunner (Adv.), Gerald Gray, Chavdar Ivanov, Stuart Laval, Ralph Mackiewicz, Dan Nordell, Aaron Snyder, Zeus Xioco; Staff: Margaret Goodrich, Herbert Falk